Second Hand Heart

Genre: Fiction

Second Hand Heart

Can a heart remember the people it once loved? By Catherine Ryan Hyde, the bestselling author of Pay It Forward, Second Hand Heart is a warm and wonderful novel of love, unexpected chances, and inconceivable loss—of learning to live for the first time, and learning to live all over again. Vida is 19 and has a life-threatening heart condition. Richard is 36 and has just lost his beloved wife in a car accident. When Richard is invited to the hospital to meet the young woman who received his wife's donor heart, Vida takes one look at him and feels she's loved him all her life. Is Vida just a sheltered and confused young woman? Or is there truth behind the theory of cellular memory? Can a heart remember, at least for a time, on its own? An unusual and surprising love story, Second Hand Heart is a compelling listen that will appeal to fans of Jodi Picoult and Nicholas Sparks, and to anyone who has ever been curious about the limits of love and death.

Unabridged recording:
Run time: 9 hours
Media Options:
  • Retail Trade: MP3-CD
  • Library Editions:

Show more information about contributors
Author
Catherine Ryan Hyde

Biography:
<p>Catherine Ryan Hyde is the author of more than thirty published and forthcoming books. An avid hiker, traveler, equestrian, and amateur photographer, she has released her first book of photos, <i>365 Days of Gratitude: Photos from a Beautiful World</i>.</p><p>Her novel <i>Pay It Forward</i> was adapted into a major motion picture, chosen by the American Library Association for its Best Books for Young Adults list, and translated into more than twenty-three languages for distribution in more than thirty countries. Both <i>Becoming Chloe</i> and <i>Jumpstart the World</i> were included on the ALA’s Rainbow Book List, and <i>Jumpstart the World</i> was a finalist for two Lambda Literary Awards. <i>Where We Belong</i> won two Rainbow Awards in 2013, and <i>The Language of Hoofbeats</i> won a Rainbow Award in 2015.</p><p>More than fifty of her short stories have been published in the <i>Antioch Review</i>, <i>Michigan Quarterly Review</i>, <i>Virginia Quarterly Review</i>, <i>Ploughshares</i>, <i>Glimmer Train</i>, and many other journals and in the anthologies <i>Santa Barbara Stories</i>, <i>California Shorts</i>, and <i>New York Times</i> bestseller <i>Dog Is My Co-Pilot</i>. Her stories have been honored in the Raymond Carver Short Story Contest and the Tobias Wolff Award and nominated for the O. Henry Award and the Pushcart Prize. Three have been cited in Best American Short Stories.</p><p>She is the founder and former president (2000–2009) of the Pay It Forward Foundation and still serves on its board of directors. As a professional public speaker, she has addressed the National Conference on Education, spoken at Cornell University twice, met with AmeriCorps members at the White House, and shared a dais with Bill Clinton.</p><p>For more information and book club questions, please visit the author at www.catherineryanhyde.com.</p>
Narrator
Anthony Bowden
Narrator
Khristine Hvam

Biography:
Khristine Hvam has worked as a professional voiceover actor in New York for three years. Some of her most notable work has been with Audible.com as well as the voice of several characters for Pokémon USA. She also enjoys dabbling in theater and is looking forward to exploring new audiobook genres and other creative endeavors.

Back to Top
Audiobook Publishing at Its Best